Johannes M. Hedinger

INFO

Com&Com LinkedIn Academia Twitter Facebook Instagram

Info

Johannes M. Hedinger is an artist, art researcher, curator, filmmaker, author and educator. He is the founder of Com&Com, Alps Art Academy, Bloch, Hebo, Methods of Art and What’s Next?

Hedinger studied fine arts at the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) as well as the University of California Los Angeles, UCLA, obtained second degrees in Art history, Cultural studies, Film studies and German studies at the University of Zurich and at the Humboldt University of Berlin, as well as a postgraduate degree in Strategic marketing at the Berlin University of the Arts, and pursued doctoral studies at the University of Lausanne.

Johannes Hedinger is lecturer and researcher at the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) (since 2006) and teaches at the Institut für Kunst und Kunsttheorie at the University of Cologne (since 2010), where he was a substitute professor for intermedia in 2013/14. Since 2015, he is founder and director of the Alps Art Academy.

Hedinger’s artistic production is mostly known as a part of the Swiss artist duo Com&Com (with Marcus Gossolt, since 1997). His latest projects include Bloch (since 2011), Point de Suisse (2014-15) and Mocmoc (2003-08). Together they participated in nine Biennales (Venice, Shanghai, Singapore, Sharjah and Moscow amongst others), solo exhibitions at the Kunsthaus Zürich, Kunstwerke Berlin and Knockdown Center New York amongst others; group exhibitions at the ZKM Karlsruhe, Kunstmuseum Bern, Migros Museum Zürich, Pratt Manhattan Gallery and Shanghai Minsheng Museum amongst others. Overall, he has participated in more than 150 exhibitions and 25 short films. Since 2008 he collaborates with Frank Bodin and the Institute of Robotics of the ETH Zürich under the Label HEBO to produce a series of humanoid robots.

Curatorial works include Art Safiental (2018, 2016), TEKTONIK (2018), Methods of Art (Ural Biennale 2015, Connecting Space Hong Kong 2015), Point de Suisse (Museum of History Basel 2015), Kunstsalon (Bard Hall New York 2014), La réalité dépasse la fiction (CentrePasquArt Biel 2009/10) and Beauty is the new punk (White Square Gallery Las Vegas 2009).

Research and mediation works include initiatives such as The New Artist (since 2016), Methods of Art (since 2014), What’s next? (since 2013), Urban Interventions (since 2012) and Cultural Hacking (since 2009). Hedinger is the editor and author of many books on contemporary art, such as New Land Art (2017), The Book of Bloch (2017), Point de Suisse (2015), What’s Next? Kunst nach der Krise (2013), Lexikon zur zeitgenössischen Kunst (2010), Kunst, öffentlicher Raum, Identität (2004). He regularly publishes articles on art for newspapers and magazines such as Kunstforum International and Schweizer Monat.

His focus and research topics include: transdisciplinarity, socially engaged art, participatory art, new land art, urban interventions, cultural hacking, art strategies, art world studies, art market studies, sociology of art and artistic research.

Johannes M. Hedinger

INFO

Com&Com LinkedIn Academia Twitter Facebook Instagram

Info

Johannes M. Hedinger ist Künstler, Kunstwissenschaftler, Kurator, Filmemacher, Autor und Dozent. Gründer von Com&Com, Alps Art Academy, Bloch, Hebo, Methods of Art und What’s Next?

Studium der Bildenden Kunst an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste sowie an der University of California Los Angeles UCLA. Zweitstudium der Kunstgeschichte, Kulturwissenschaften, Filmwissenschaft und Germanistik an der Universität Zürich und an der Humboldt Universität Berlin sowie Nachdiplomstudien in Strategischem Marketing an der Universität der Künste Berlin und Promotionsstudium an der Universität Lausanne.

Seit 2006 lehrt Johannes Hedinger an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, seit 2010 ist er Lehrbeauftragter am Institut für Kunst und Kunsttheorie an der Universität zu Köln, wo er 2013/14 eine Vertretungsprofessur für disziplinüberschreitende künstlerisch-mediale Praxis (Intermedia) inne hatte. Seit 2015 ist er Direktor der von ihm gegründeten Alps Art Academy.

Hedingers künstlerische Arbeit wurde vor allem bekannt als Teil des Künstlerduos Com&Com (mit Marcus Gossolt, seit 1997). Jüngste Projekte umfassen Bloch (seit 2011), Point de Suisse (2014-15) und Mocmoc (2003-08). Teilnahme an neun Biennalen (Venedig, Shanghai, Singapur, Sharjah, Moskau u. a.), Einzelausstellungen u. a. im Kunsthaus Zürich, Kunstwerke Berlin und Knockdown Center New York; Gruppenausstellungen u. a. im ZKM Karlsruhe, Kunstmuseum Bern, Migros Museum Zürich, Pratt Manhattan Gallery und Shanghai Minsheng Museum. Über 130 Ausstellungen und 25 Kurzfilme. Seit 2008 auch Zusammenarbeit mit Frank Bodin und dem Institut für Robotik an der ETH Zürich unter dem Label HEBO, woraus eine Serie von humanoiden Robotern entstand.

Kuratorische Arbeiten umfassen Art Safiental (2018, 2016), TEKTONIK (2018), Methods of Art (Ural Biennale 2015, Connecting Space Hong Kong 2015), Point de Suisse (Museum für Geschichte Basel 2015), Kunstsalon (Bard Hall New York 2014), La réalité dépasse la fiction (CentrePasquArt Biel 2009/10), Beauty is the new punk (White Square Gallery Las Vegas 2009).

Als Forscher und Vermittler gründete und leitet Hedinger Initiativen wie The New Artist (seit 2016), Methods of Art (seit 2014), What’s next? (seit 2013), Urban Interventions (seit 2012) und Cultural Hacking (seit 2009). Hedinger ist Herausgeber und Autor mehrerer Bücher zur zeitgenössischen Kunst, u. a. Point de Suisse (2015), What’s Next? Kunst nach der Krise (2013), Lexikon zur zeitgenössischen Kunst (2010), Kunst, öffentlicher Raum, Identität (2004). Er publiziert regelmässig  zu Themen der Kunst in Zeitungen und Magazinen wie Kunstforum International und Schweizer Monat.

Zu seinen Arbeitsschwerpunkten und Forschungsinteressen zählen: Transdisziplinarität, Socially engaged art, Partizipationskunst, New Land Art, Urban Interventions, Cultural Hacking, künstlerische Strategien, Künstlerbild, Kunstbetrieb und Artistic Research.